back design

:: [ Intro | Major Arcana | Minor Arcana | Tech Specs ] ::

Adflatus, Latin for breath or inspiration was conceived in early 2000 in the midst of a journey, which I embarked upon in trying to understand the vocabulary of the tarot. The many images, metaphors and symbolism that could be found in the various decks available - traditional and contemporary, failed to connect with my being.

I grew weary of my journey trying to find the one deck, which I could do my own readings with and decided to venture on a project of creating my own. Here each card would have it's own meaning, particular to myself as well as incorporate the language of the tarot.

With the aid of my the Rider-Waite deck and text such as that from Jane Lyle and Rachael Pollack I spent many nights drawing the detailed line work which became the basis of the tarot card. Over the years the illustration style grew more confident and bolder. When it finally came to the colouring stage of the cards, I surprised myself with the wonders of bold colours and vibrant hues. Each artistic layer of the card added to the meaning and the evocation of my own consciousness.

The end results are as such the deck titled Adflatus.

this page was hosted (2003-2006) by a friend of mine, Mike, who was there for me towards the end of this endeavour. his words of encouragement and company (and criticism) kept me sane and fueled my drive. sometimes it is the actions, and not the words of others, which carry one through.


The Major Arcana has always been to me a story of the journey of the fool through stages in his/her life. The fool is the child or the inner child who has yet to experience the world and grow. The fool faces different trials and experiences through out the major arcana, only to come back to the beginning again to embark on the journey again. This endless journey occurs in life on a micro scale as well as on an overall one.

The cards are drawn in the style similar to stained glass. Iconic images representing a lesson to be learned, a being to be studied or a situation depicted. Each character in the major arcana wears a "mask" over their face, depicted by the lines, which break each face down to sections. The mask is merely a representation of a "human" relation, similar to that of the mythical gods who stand in human from amongst us to ease our comprehension of the messages they deliver.


The minor arcana represent the lesser lessons, which can be learned from the Major Arcana. In the deck, the suits are broken up into 4 different themes, which are reflective of the element, which the suit is aligned with.

The suit of wands is associated with the element of fire, intuition, magic, the powers of creation and matters of the soul. The characters in the suit are magicians, warriors, sages and opulent individuals. They embody the use of magic in daily life. With their staves or wands, they move to create or fight.

The suit of swords is associated with the element of air, thought, intelligence, mentality and matters of the mind. The characters of the suit are warriors, highly ornate and decorated, firm and serious. They embody the logic and sensibility, which can only be found in those who remove themselves from the burdens of emotion. With their swords the cut through life as well as protect themselves.

The suit of cups is associated with the element of water, emotions and matters of the heart. The characters of the suit are mer-people of the oceans and seas. They embody the freedom of movement and restraint of life on the land and the fantastical luxury of living life for the pleasures it presents. With their cups, they swim through the oceans of life searching for contents to fill their vessels with.

The suit of pentacles is associated with the element of earth, the sensations of touch, sight, sound and taste, physical pleasures and the matters of the body. The characters of the suit are metallic humanoids that are one with their element. They embody the fruits of the earth: metals, the built environment, material possessions and the ingenuity of creation. With their pentacles they go through life enjoying what the earth has to offer them.

Each number of the suit has their own theme.
Ace - basic quality of the suit, new beginnings and raw energy and power.
Two - synthesis and balance
Three - full growth and expression of the suit
Four - structure & stability
Five - conflict, loss, change
Six - pivotal points
Seven - karma, cause & effect
Eight - balance & movement
Nine - contentment & completion
Ten - transcendence

Page - exploration & study
Knight - action & expression
Queen - feminine aspect, creation and appreciation
King - Male aspect of the suit, ultimate energy & power


A list of numbers and specifications associated with the "product".

Card Size: 2.75 x 4.6 inches (7 x 11.5 cm)
Cards: 78 of them + 2 Spread Diagrams
Based of: Rider-Waite Structure

Companion Book: 216 pages (includes grey-scale images of each card)
Publisher: Llewellyn Publications (May 1, 2005)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0738706078
ISBN-13: 978-0738706078 (because 10 was not enough)

Package/Box/Kit Dimensions: 8.2 x 6.4 x 5.5 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds

Send comments to Zach Wong